Small updates can make a big difference!

The past few weeks have been busy with updates, big and small, around here. I’m working on one project which I HATE, so it’s taking me forever to do that! It’s stenciling curtains so what could really take me a day has taken me about 2.5 weeks or longer. I’ve finish the fireplace make over last night (click here to check out phase one!) I’ll be posting phase two this week. In a few days we’ll be laying down the pergo floor in the family room. But in the meantime, there are really quick and easy ways to spruce up exsiting pieces in your home that could change the look of the room!

I had bought a curtain rod at Ikea. The finials were pretty boring. I had found a pair on clearance from West Elm that I couldn’t pass up! When I got them in the mail, I realized that the finials from West Elm were screw in and I didn’t have anything to screw them into. So, my dad pulled a pretty clever MacGyver move!

Image

So, what he did was just snap off the original finial and drilled a small hole to screw in the new finial…

Ta-da!

Another small change we made was reusing the gift that keeps on giving around here. My teal paint by Benjamin Moore that we first used for the front door makeover (click here) and then used for my coffee bar cabinet (click here). I had this big mirror that my mom had given me that was a goldish color and not really my style:

Image

Since I gave the paint to my mom so she can paint her front door, she used it to repaint the mirror frame for me. All you would need to do is tape around the edge of the frame so it doesn’t get on the mirror.

Image

Here she is!

How about you? Any small updates you’ve done lately? Any big ones your tackling? Any that you’re half way done and putting off like me? 😉

2 thoughts on “Small updates can make a big difference!

Leave a Reply

